The Very Best Of Paul Robeson (2cd set)

Artist: Paul Robeson
Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060255183304
Cat No: DAY2CD330


Paul Robeson made his theatrical debut in a Eugene O’Neill
play in London in 1922. Within a couple of years he had become
a star of the stage in both London and New York in the title role
of Emperor Jones and in 1933 repeated his performance for the
film version. In addition to his acting talents, Robeson also
possessed a superbly rich and emotive bass-baritone singing
voice, and in 1925 signed a contract with the Victor record label
and began his recording career (he also later recorded for
Columbia), with a repertoire that included a few popular songs of
the day but mainly consisted of a range of spirituals, work songs
(like Shortnin’ Bread) and folk songs (like Shenandoah) that
dated back to the days of slavery (or before), many of which are
to be found on this 2CD set.

Categories: , , ,

Disc 1

1. Ol’ Man River
2. Swanee River (Old Folks At Home)
3. The Riddle Song (I Gave My Love A Cherry)
4. The Canoe Song
5. Some Enchanted Evening
6. Rockin’ Chair
7. It Ain’t Necessarily So
8. Lonesome Road
9. Joe Hill
10. Deep River
11. Down De Lovers’ Lane
12. Get On Board, Little Children
13. Shortnin’ Bread
14. River Stay ‘Way From My Door
15. Just Keepin’ On
16. Round The Bend Of The Road
17. Shenandoah
18. I Still Suits Me
19. The Skye Boat Song
20. Just A Wearyin’ For You

Disc 2

1. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
2. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
3. Ma Curly-Headed Baby
4. Fat Li’l Feller Wid His Mammy’s Eyes
5. Lazy Bones
6. Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?
7. Doan Ye Cry, Ma Honey
8. Killing Song
9. Carry Me Back To Green Pastures
10. Love Song
11. All Through The Night
12. Water Boy
13. Take Me Away From The River
14. De Lil’ Piccaninny’s Gone To Sleep
15. Mah Lindy Lou
16. My Old Kentucky Home
17. All God’s Chillun Got Wings
18. Mighty Lak’ A Rose
19. Joshua Fit De Battle Ob Jericho
20. Ol’ Man River (Alt. Ver.)