The Golden Voice Of SHIRLEY BASSEY (2cd set)

Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143497056
Cat No: NOT2CD705


The songs that comprise this 2-CD set are all drawn from the early part of Shirley’s career, and are representative of her stage act at the time. She made a mark by covering show tunes like As Long As He Needs Me (from Oliver), Climb Every Mountain (from The Sound of Music) and My Funny Valentine (from Pal Joey), alongside a selection of standards. Some of these songs were slow and bluesy, some were epic ballads – but both styles suited Shirley’s seemingly unstoppable voice. The different aspects of her singing, so powerful that it seemed that nothing could contain it, that it was a force she was compelled to release.

Categories: , , ,


Disc 1

1. Climb Ev’ry Mountain
2. Kiss Me, Honey Honey, Kiss Me
3. As I Love You
4. Careless Love Blues
5. What Now My Love?
6. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
7. Cry Me A River
8. With These Hands
9. Birth Of The Blues
10. From This Moment On
11. You, You Romeo
12. The Gypsy In My Soul
13. Let’s Face The Music And Dance
14. So In Love
15. Till
16. Tonight
17. A Foggy Day In London Town
18. Count On Me
19. All The Things You Are
20. I’m In The Mood For Love
21. My Faith
22. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
23. You’ll Never Know
24. Crazy Rhythm
25. Who Are We?


Disc 2

1. As Long As He Needs Me
2. The Banana Boat Song
3. If You Love Me
4. ‘S Wonderful
5. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
6. Reach For The Stars
7. Let’s Fall In Love
8. Far Away
9. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
10. Fools Rush In
11. I Get A Kick Out Of You
12. Let’s Start All Over Again
13. April In Paris
14. I’ll Remember April
15. Hold Me Tight
16. In The Still Of The Night
17. Burn My Candle
18. All Of Me
19. My Funny Valentine
20. A Lovely Way To Spend An Evening
21. Beale Street Blues
22. I’ll Get By (As Long As I Have You)
23. Let There Be Love
24. There’s Never Been A Night
25. The Party’s Over