The Essential Buck Owens [180G Vinyl LP]

Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060397602497
Cat No: CATLP249


After co-writing a top five song for Kitty Wells, Mommy For A Day, Buck ended 1959 with a hit of his own, Under Your Spell Again. The next six years brought many more; Foolin’ Around, Under The Influence Of Love and Heartaches By The Number. However, Owens’ popularity had peaked by the late 1960s. So, in 1969 he embraced the small screen and became co-host of Country Music TV programme, Hee-Haw. The arrival on the scene of Country-Rock pioneers the Flying Burrito Brothers in the late 1960s gave Buck Owens another share of reflected glory. They loved the raw Hillbilly feel of his music, developed to compete with the string-laden ‘Countrypolitan’ sound so popular in the early 1960s in the hands of Eddy Arnold, Jim Reeves and Patsy Cline.

Categories: , , ,

Side One

1. Foolin’ Around

2. Under The Influence Of Love

3. Excuse Me (I Think I’ve Got A Heartache)

4. Above And Beyond

5. Think It Over

6. Tired Of Livin’

7. Pick Me Up On Your Way Down

8. The One You Slip Around With

Side Two

1. Under Your Spell Again

2. Second Fiddle

3. Heartaches By The Number

4. Bad Bad Dream

5. I’ll Take A Chance On Loving You

6. Heartaches For A Dime

7. Keys In The Mailbox

8. Nobody’s Fool But Yours