Guitars From Out-A Space (180G VINYL LP)

Artist: The Spotnicks
Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060397602183
Cat No: CATLP218


The early 1960s was a golden time for rock’n’roll instrumentals, with the Shadows and the Tornados in the UK, and Duane Eddy and the Ventures enjoying lasting success in the US. Not too far behind was Swedish group the Spotnicks, who managed to notch up four hit singles and one hit album in the UK. The Spotnicks were formed by lead guitarist Bo Winberg who had been born in Gothenburg in 1939 and, rather like Joe Meek, was immersed in electronics and rock’n’roll. He admired the multi-tracking techniques of the master guitarist Les Paul and wondered how to apply such innovations to his own music. And as instrumental music does not date as fast as most vocal music, some of these tracks still sound pretty futuristic.

Categories: , , , , ,

Side One

1. Orange Blossom Special
2. Happy Henrik’s Polka
3. Ol’ Man River (Vocals: Bob Lander)
4. Nightcap
5. The Spotnick’s Theme
6. High Flyin’ Scotsman
7. Moonshot

Bonus Tracks
8. Ghost Riders In The Sky
9. Hava Nagila

Side Two

1. The Rocket Man
2. Dark Eyes
3. My Old Kentucky Home (Vocals: Bob Lander)
4. No Yaga Daga Blues
5. Thundernest
6. Amapola
7. I’m Going Home (To See My Baby)
Bonus Tracks
8. What’d I Say
9. Galloping Guitars