Ella & Louis – The Definitive Collection [Gatefold, 4LP Vinyl Set]

Artist: Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong
Format: 4LP
Bar-code: 5060403742551
Cat No: NOT4LP255


When Norman Granz brought two major jazz stars into the recording studio for the first time together in 1956, the results were never going to be less than enjoyable. Sure enough, the resulting album, entitled ‘Ella And Louis’, proved to be a highly popular release and has remained so decades down the line. To have supreme song stylist Fitzgerald in tandem with the man who virtually invented jazz singing must have been a dream ticket for impresario Granz who, in his lifetime, recorded nearly all of the musicians who helped shape the music. This amazing gatefold 4LP set includes the albums ‘Ella And Louis’, ‘Ella And Louis Again’ and ‘Porgy And Bess’.

Categories: , , , ,


Ella And Louis

LP 1 Side One

1. Can’t We Be Friends
2. Isn’t This A Lovely Day
3. Moonlight In Vermont
4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
5. Under A Blanket Of Blue
6. Tenderly


LP 1 Side Two

1. A Foggy Day
2. Stars Fell On Alabama
3. Cheek To Cheek
4. The Nearness Of You
5. April In Paris



Ella And Louis Again

LP 2 Side One

1. Don’t Be That Way
2. Makin’ Whoopee
3. They All Laughed
4. Comes Love
5. Autumn In New York


LP 2 Side Two

1. Let’s Do It Let’s Fall In Love
2. Stompin’ At The Savoy
3. I Won’t Dance
4. Gee, Baby, Ain’t I Good To You


LP 3 Side One

1. Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off
2. These Foolish Things
3. I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
4. Willow Weep For Me
5. I’m Putting All My Eggs In One Basket


LP 3 Side Two

1. A Fine Romance
2. Ill Wind
3. Love Is Here To Stay
4. I Get A Kick Out Of You
5. Learnin’ The Blues

Bonus Tracks:
6. Dream A Little Dream Of Me
7. Oops



Porgy And Bess

LP 4 Side One

1. Summertime
2. I Wants To Stay Here
3. My Man’s Gone Now
4. I Got Plenty O’ Nuttin’
5. Buzzard Song
6. Bess You Is My Woman Now


LP 4 Side Two

1. It Ain’t Necessarily So
2. What You Want Wid Bess?
3. A Woman Is A Sometime Thing
4. Oh, Doctor Jesus
5. Medley: Here Comes De Honey Man / Crab Man / Oh, Dey’s So Fresh And Fine
6. There’s A Boat Dat’s Leavin’ Soon For New York
7. Bess, Oh Where’s My Bess?
8. Oh Lawd, I’m On My Way!