Songbooks; Ellington, Kern, Basie & Youmans (2cd set)

Artist: Oscar Peterson
Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143492860
Cat No: NOT2CD286


The Fifties proved to be the decade that elevated Oscar Peterson into the international figure he would remain for the rest of his long life. Under the guidance of mentor Norman Granz, his attempts to take Jazz to a wider audience proved successful both artistically and financially. Featured here are four of of his original “Songbook” concept albums: ‘The Duke Ellington Songbook’, ‘The Jerome Kern Songbook’, ‘The Count Basie Songbook’ and ‘The Harry Warren & Vincent Youmans Songbooks’, all digitally re-mastered and, in some cases, available in digital format for the very first time.

Categories: , , ,

CD 1

The Duke Ellington Songbook

1. John Hardy’s Wife
2. Sophisticated Lady
3. Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
4. Just A-Sittin’ And A-Rockin’
5. In A Mellow Tone
6. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
7. Prelude To A Kiss
8. Cotton Tail
9. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
10. Take The “A” Train
11. Rockin’ In Rhythm
12. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me

The Jerome Kern Songbook

13. I Won’t Dance
14. Bill
15. The Song Is You
16. A Fine Romance
17. Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man
18. Ol’ Man River
19. Long Ago And Far Away
20. Lovely To Look At
21. Pick Yourself Up
22. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
23. The Way You Look Tonight
24. Yesterday’s

CD 2

The Count Basie Songbook

1. Lester Leaps In
2. Easy Does It
3. 9:20 Special
4. Jumpin’ At The Woodside
5. Blues For Basie
6. Broadway
7. Blue And Sentimental
8. Topsy
9. One O’Clock Jump
10. Jive At Five

The Harry Warren Vincent Youmans Songbooks

11. Lullaby Of Broadway
12. Serenade In Blue
13. You’ll Never Know
14. I Had The Craziest Dream
15. I Only Have Eyes For You
16. Chattanooga Choo-Choo
17. More Than You Know
18. Carioca
19. Without A Song
20. Drums In My Heart
21. Time On My Hands
22. Great Day