Ella Fitzgerald – Sings The George & Ira Gershwin Songbook (5LP Vinyl LP Box Set)

Format: 5LP
Bar-code: 5060924030014
Cat No: NOTBOX001


When Ella Fitzgerald began recording her series of albums devoted to the work of America’s greatest song writers, she elevated the art of Jazz singing into a new dimension while celebrating a unique musical heritage bequeathed to the world of popular music. Norman Granz encouraged the bold decision to record five albums all featuring the extraordinary output of songs composed by the brothers George and Ira Gershwin during the Golden Age of popular song. Gershwin show tunes had long been a staple diet for bandleaders, pop-vocalists and star-instrumentalists eager to perform such exhilarating material as Strike Up The Band, Oh, Lady Be Good!, S’Wonderful and I Got Rhythm. But there was also a gamut of ballads and romantic dance themes needing to be interpreted with greater sensitivity. Ella was more than capable of focusing on lyrics and caressing melodies of songs like Someone To Watch Over Me, A Foggy Day and Embraceable You. They are among the 53 Gershwin classics she recorded over an eight month period in 1959 and now featured in this superb collection.

Categories: , , ,

Volume One:

LP 1: Side One:

1. Sam And Delilah
2. But Not For Me
3. My One And Only
4. Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off
5. (I’ve Got) Beginner’s Luck

LP 1: Side Two:

1. Oh, Lady Be Good!
2. Nice Work If You Can Get It
3. Things Are
4. Just Another Rhumba
5. How Long Has This Been Going On?

Volume Two:

LP 2: Side One:

1. S’Wonderful
2. The Man I Love
3. That Certain Feeling
4. By Strauss
5. Someone To Watch Over Me
6. The Real American Folk Song

LP 2: Side Two:

1. Who Cares?
2. Looking For A Boy
3. They All Laughed
4. My Cousin In Milwaukee
5. Somebody From Somewhere

Volume Three:

LP 3: Side One:

1. A Foggy Day
2. Clap Yo’ Hands
3. For You, For Me, For Evermore
4. Stiff Upper Lip
5. Boy Wanted
6. Strike Up The Band

LP 3: Side Two:

1. Soon
2. I’ve Got A Crush On You
3. Bidin’ My Time
4. Aren’t You Kind Of Glad We Did?
5. Of Thee I Sing (Baby)

Volume Four:

LP 4: Side One:

1. “The Half Of It, Dearie” Blues
2. I Was Doing All Right
3. He Loves And She Loves
4. Love Is Sweeping The Country
5. Treat Me Rough

LP4 Side Two:

1. Love Is Here To Stay
2. Slap That Bass
3. Isn’t It A Pity?
4. Shall We Dance
5. Love Walked In
6. You’ve Got What Gets Me


Volume Five:

LP 5: Side One:

1. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
2. Embraceable You
3. I Can’t Be Bothered Now
4. Boy! What Love Has Done To Me!
5. Fascinatin’ Rhythm

LP5 Side Two:

1. Funny Face
2. Lorelei
3. Oh, So Nice
4. Let’s Kiss And Make Up
5. I Got Rhythm