Blue Train (2CD SET)

Artist: John Coltrane
Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143492914
Cat No: NOT2CD291


‘Blue Train’ was recorded in September 1957 in New Jersey for Blue Note Records, and is considered John Coltrane’s best album from this period. Four of its five tracks are Coltrane compositions and the title track, ‘Moment’s Notice’ and ‘Lazy Bird’ have all become standards. ‘Moment’s Notice’ in particular exhibited the so-called ‘Coltrane changes’, distinctive chord progressions that would become a trademark. This album captures John Coltrane at the peak of his solo career, though of course, there was more significant music to come. He died of cancer of the liver on 17 July 1967 but left a legacy of recordings which, to this day, inspire jazz musicians the world over.



Categories: , , ,

CD 1: Blue Train

1. Blue Train
2. Moment’s Notice
3. Locomotion
4. I’m Old Fashioned
5. Lazy Bird

CD 2: Traneing In

1. Traneing In
2. Slow Dance
3. Bass Blues
4. You Leave Me Breathless
5. Soft Lights And Sweet Music


6. Dakar
7. Mary’s Blues
8. Route 4
9. Velvet Scene
10. Witches’ Pit
11. Catwalk