Artist: Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong
Format: 2LP
Bar-code: 5060143491429
Cat No: NOT2LP142


When Norman Granz brought two major jazz stars into the recording studio for the first time together in 1956, the results were never going to be less than enjoyable. Sure enough, the resulting album, entitled ‘Ella And Louis’, proved to be a highly popular release and has remained so decades down the line. To have supreme song stylist Fitzgerald in tandem with the man who virtually invented jazz singing must have been a dream ticket for impresario Granz who, in his lifetime, recorded nearly all of the musicians who helped shape the music. Enjoy over 75 minutes of Ella & Louis’ finest recordings on this 2LP gatefold set.


Also available on CD

Categories: , , , ,

LP1 Side 1

1. Can’t We Be Friends (3:48)
2. Isn’t This A Lovely Day (6:16)
3. Moonlight In Vermont (3:42)
4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me (4:39)

LP1 Side 2

1. Under A Blanket Of Blue (4:17)
2. Tenderly (5:08)
3. A Foggy Day (4:32)
4. Stars Fell On Alabama (3:33)

Total Playing Time Approx: 35 minutes

LP2 Side 1

1. Cheek To Cheek (5:53)
2. The Nearness Of You (5:42)
3. April In Paris (6:35)
4. I’m Putting All My Eggs In One Basket (3:27)

LP2 Side 2

1. Don’t Be That Way (5:01)
2. They All Laughed (3:48)
3. Autumn In New York (5:58)
4. Stompin’ At The Savoy (5:14)

Total Playing Time Approx: 41 minutes