This Time I’m Swingin’ (180G Pale Blue Vinyl LP)

Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060348583431
Cat No: NOTLP343


During the fifties Dean developed his singing persona and he recorded prolifically, making a series of easy styled albums which all sold well alongside his single releases. Capitol were therefore happy to invest in his sessions, and by the time this album was cut in May 1960, the label was hiring a large orchestra of A-list Hollywood session players to back him up. Cut over three sessions with Sinatra’s Pianist and Band Leader Bill Millar. Other ‘name’ players included Lustgarten on Cello, Slatkin on Violin and future ‘Wrecking Crew’ member Johnson on Saxophone. Most prominently Capitol had hired Nelson Riddle to conduct the sessions, underlining Dean’s importance to the label. Thirteen songs were recorded, with Ain’t That A Kick In The Head not making it on to the album and being held back to become a later single. The twelve that did make it included Imagination, True Love and You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You, which was re-recorded later in 1964 when it gave Dean a major hit, rising to #14 on the US Pop chart. The album was released in early October 1960 in territories all around the world, and it proved to be his best seller in the UK to that point, rising to #18 on our album chart.

Categories: , , , ,


1. Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me
2. True Love
3. You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You
4. On The Street Where You Live
5. Imagination
6. Until The Real Thing Comes Along


1. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone
2. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
3. Someday
4. Mean To Me
5. Heaven Can Wait
6. Just In Time