The Sound Of Phil Spector (180g Vinyl LP)

Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060397602459
Cat No: CATLP245


In late 1961 Spector formed Philles Records with Lester Sill, buying his mentor out the following year. The slogan was ‘Tomorrow’s sound today’, and Phil Spector proceeded to live up to that boast. Three-track tape machines were then state of the art, and he perfected the method of ‘bouncing’ the tracks to get the biggest possible sound. As time went by, his ‘two-minute symphonies for the kids’ would be increasingly gilded by his ‘everything but the kitchen sink’ production including Strings, Percussion and banks of Vocals. Spector gained his second U.S. chart-topper and his first as a Producer in 1962 with the Gene Pitney penned, He’s A Rebel. Spector became increasingly obsessed by the production process. ‘My records are built like a Wagnerian opera. They start simply and end with dynamic force, meaning and purpose. I dreamed it up.’ He retired from the music business, returning only sporadically to work with first The Beatles (their Let It Be album, plus solo LPs by George Harrison and John Lennon), plus a handful of other artists including Dion, Cher and the Ramones.


1. He’s A Rebel – The Crystals
2. Spanish Harlem – Ben E. King
3. Under The Moon Of Love – Curtis Lee
4. Every Breath I Take – Gene Pitney
5. Zip A Dee Doo Dah – Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans
6. Anyone But You – Ruth Brown
7. I’m So Happy (Tra La La La La La) – The Ducanes
8. I Love How You Love Me – The Paris Sisters


1. To Know Him Is To Love Him – The Teddy Bears
2. World Of Tears – Johnny Nash
3. Puddin’ N’ Tain – The Alley Cats
4. The Basic Things – The Top Notes
5. Pretty Little Angel Eyes – Curtis Lee
6. Talk To Me, Talk To Me – Jean Du Shon
7. Gonna Git That Man – Connie Francis
8. Uptown – The Crystals