The Chirping Crickets [180G Vinyl LP]

Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060397602589
Cat No: CATLP258


Their journey began with them forming in Lubbock, Texas in 1957, and following a recommendation, they were introduced to Norman Petty. Petty owned a small independent recording studio in Clovis, New Mexico. And after some musical nurturing they became one of the first Rock and Roll groups to write, record and perform their own compositions. Their breakthrough hit That’ll be the day skyrocketed the sparkling young quartet to stardom. 1957 saw it become a transatlantic Number 1 for The Crickets. Then came further hits in Oh Boy! And Maybe Baby. This led to the release of their first album The Chirping Crickets which was both co-written and produced by Petty, his writing contributions can be found on Not Fade Away, You’ve Got Love, Tell Me How, I’m Lookin’ For Someone To Love and Last Night, An Empty Cup (And A Broken Date), which was co-written with Roy Orbison. Also included are It’s Too Late, Send Me Some Lovin’ and Rock Me My Baby.



1. Oh, Boy!
2. Not Fade Away
3. You’ve Got Love
4. Maybe Baby
5. It’s Too Late
6. Tell Me How
1. That’ll Be The Day
2. I’m Lookin’ For Someone To Love
3. An Empty Cup (And A Broken Date)
4. Send Me Some Lovin’
5. Last Night
6. Rock Me My Baby