Saxophone Colossus (2cd set)

Artist: Sonny Rollins
Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143493621
Cat No: NOT2CD362


Few musicians can claim to rival John Coltrane in the tenor saxophone stakes, let alone to have looked him in the eye across a stage or studio floor. Sonny Rollins is one of those rare and talented men. His desire to push boundaries has kept him at the top for more than half a century: in critic John Fordham’s words, ‘the drive constantly to remake new music out of old is part of the spirit of jazz – and Rollins remains a dazzling exponent’. Sonny Rollins’ trademark enthusiasm and experimentation is apparent in every note he plays: enjoy this collection of classic recordings from his first golden period.


Also available on Vinyl

Categories: , , ,

CD 1 Saxophone Colossus

1. St. Thomas (6:48)
2. You Don’t Know What Love Is (6:29)
3. Strode Rode (5:15)
4. Moritat (10:06)
5. Blue Seven (11:14)

CD 2 Newk’s Time

1. Tune Up (5:47)
2. Asiatic Raes (6:00)
3. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top (6:34)
4. Wonderful! Wonderful! (6:03)
5. Namely You (3:20)
6. Blues For Philly Joe (6:47)

Tenor Madness

7. Tenor Madness (12:16)
8. When Your Lover Has Gone (6:14)
9. Paul’s Pal (5:12)
10. My Reverie (6:08)
11. The Most Beautiful Girl In The World (5:34)