Queen of Gospel [180g Vinyl LP]

Artist: Mahalia Jackson
Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060397602466
Cat No: CATLP246


Mahalia Jackson was the link between ‘Empress of the Blues’ Bessie Smith and ‘Queen of Soul’ Aretha Franklin. Yet, she was not a Blueswoman, considering the Blues to be ‘songs of despair – Gospel songs are the songs of hope’. Jackson took Gospel to the world, but would claim it was on her own terms. She didn’t sing the Blues, but helped put a beat into Gospel Music, bringing it nearer the mainstream and making it attractive to a wider audience. Gathered on this album are hymns and sacred songs; Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho, When The Saints Go Marching In, Amazing Grace and Were You There? Her success resurrected an interest in Gospel Music and Initiated what would become the ‘Golden Age of Gospel’.

Categories: , , ,


1. Amazing Grace
2. Didn’t It Rain?
3. Let The Church Roll On
4. Go Tell It On The Mountain
5. A Satisfied Mind
6. Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen
7. I’m On My Way To Canaan
8. Were You There?


1. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
2. My Desire
3. No Room At The Inn
4. Walk Over God’s Heaven
5. Jesus Met The Woman At The Well
6. There’s Not A Friend Like Jesus
7. No Other Help I Know
8. When The Saints Go Marching In