Miles ’58 (3cd set)

Artist: Miles Davis
Format: 3CD
Bar-code: 5060143490255
Cat No: NOT3CD025


Any year in the life of jazz innovator Miles Davis was significant, but 1958 was a notable twelve months even by his groundbreaking standards. The fact that the four albums featured here were all recorded that year serves as a reminder that the legendary trumpeter was as prolific as he was influential. Miles’ output of 1958, although perhaps overshadowed by ‘Kind Of Blue’, will repay the attentions of aficionado and newcomer alike. There will never be another Miles, but his fans are grateful for his enduring legacy in the shape of varied recordings like these.

Categories: , , ,

CD 1: Porgy And Bess

1. Buzzard Song
2. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
3. Gone
4. Gone, Gone, Gone
5. Summertime
6. Oh Bess, Oh Where’s My Bess
7. Prayer (Oh Doctor Jesus)
8. Fishermen, Strawberry And Devil Crab
9. My Man’s Gone Now
10. It Ain’t Necessarily So
11. Here Come De Honey Man
12. I Loves You, Porgy
13. There’s A Boat That’s Leaving Soon For New York

CD 2: Milestones

1. Dr. Jackle
2. Sid’s Ahead
3. Two Bass Hit
4. Milestones
5. Billy Boy
6. Straight, No Chaser

CD 3: Somethin’ Else

Miles Davis with Cannonball Adderley

1. Autumn Leaves
2. Love for Sale
3. Somethin’ Else
4. One for Daddy-O
5. Dancing in the Dark

Bonus Tracks:

Selections From ‘1958 Miles’

6. On Green Dolphin Street
7. Fran Dance
8. Stella by Starlight
9. Love for Sale