In Belgium They Call It Popcorn! (2cd set)

Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143496790
Cat No: NOT2CD679


We all know popcorn as a sweet and salty confectionery made from maize that is sold in cinemas. But it also gave rise to an R&B instrumental, The Popcorn, written by James Brown in 1969. Around that time, a new form of party music developing in Belgium was named ‘Popcorn’ after the James Brown hits. Rather like Northern Soul in Wigan, it relied on disc jockeys, notably Gilbert Govaert, unearthing black soul singles from the early 1960s. Northern Soul favoured up-tempo tracks and Popcorn smoochier ones, which prompted a ‘slow swing’ dance. Enjoy this 2CD compilation including Timi Yuro, The Pentagons, Ben E. King and many more.


Disc 1

1. I Ain’t Gonna Cry No More – Timi Yuro
2. Fever – Ben E. King
3. Tremblin’ – Birdie Green
4. Drums In My Heart – Dee Clark
5. Two Winters Long – Irma Thomas
6. There She Goes – The Cleftones
7. See What Tomorrow Brings – Cicero Blake
8. You Threw A Lucky Punch – Gene Chandler
9. Getting Ready For The Heartbreak – Chuck Jackson
10. Fly By Night – Varetta
11. To Be Loved By You – Marie Knight
12. Let Love Go By – Jeanette ‘Baby’ Washington
13. Let Her Go – Gene Stridel
14. Girl Of The World – The Lions
15. No Love (Like Your Love) – McKinley Mitchell


Disc 2

1. I Wonder (If Your Love Will Ever Belong To Me) – The Pentagons
2. In Between Tears – Chuck Jackson
3. Take All Of My Life – Carrie Grant & The Grandeurs
4. Don’t Do This To Me – Cicero Blake
5. You Beat Me To The Punch – Mary Wells
6. Poor Millionaire – Tommy Hunt
7. I’ll Love You Til The Cows Come Home – Clyde McPhatter
8. How Could I Help But Love You – Aaron Neville
9. I Let Myself Go – Geraldine Hunt
10. Chills And Fever – Ronnie Love
11. Any Way You Wanta – Harvey Fuqua
12. First Love Baby – Lena Calhoun
13. Just A Little Bit Of Everything – Herb Hardesty
14. Let Me Be Your Boy – Wilson Pickett
15. Love Me Right – Lavern Baker