Essential Chicago Blues (180G VINYL LP)

Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060397601667
Cat No: CATLP166


This is a compilation of Chicago Blues, but it’s also rather more than that. Run your finger down the list of songs here performed by the original artists and it’s highly likely you’ll recognise them from the repertoire of more recent artists. And while many of the singers here are, sadly, no longer with us, the blues’ ability to be creatively recycled has given the music a longevity that should ensure its future.

Side One

1. I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man – Muddy Waters
2. I Can’t Quit You Baby – Otis Rush
3. Later On – Jimmy McCracklin
4. Eyesight To The Blind – Sonny Boy Williamson
5. My Babe – Little Walter
6. Dust My Broom – Elmore James
7. Sweet Old Chicago – Roosevelt Sykes
8. Good Understanding – Willie Dixon & Memphis Slim
9. I’m A Man – Bo Diddley

Side Two

1. Smokestack Lightnin’ – Howlin’ Wolf
2. Sit And Cry (The Blues) – Buddy Guy
3. All Your Love – Magic Sam
4. Cut That Out – Junior Wells
5. Five Long Years – Eddie Boyd
6. It Must Have Been The Devil – Otis Spann
7. I’m Mad – Willie Mabon
8. Pretty Thing – Jimmy Reed
9. That’s What You Think – Freddie King