Blues From Hell

Artist: Howlin' Wolf
Format: 2LP
Bar-code: 5060403742230
Cat No: NOT2LP223


The songs on this set, dating from 1951 to 1961, sum up the first half of Wolf’s recording career with Chess, a period when he sung mostly self-penned compositions. “Smokestack Lightnin'” is probably the most covered and “How Many More Years” was the first and most successful of four songs Wolf placed on the Billboard national R&B charts in the 1950s. Though he died in 1976, his spirit lives on – not only at the annual Howlin’ Wolf Memorial Blues Festival held in Mississippi, but also in the music that features on this superb 2 LP set.

Categories: , , ,

Disc 1

1. Spoonful
2. Evil
3. Smokestack Lightnin’
4. Don’t Mess With My Baby
5. How Many More Years
6. I’ve Been Abused
7. I Better Go Now
8. Forty Four
9. I Asked For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
10. My Life
11. Nature
12. Poor Boy
13. Mr. Airplane Man
14. Who Will Be Next?

Disc 2

1. Moanin’ For My Baby
2. Crying At Daybreak
3. Who’s Been Talkin’
4. Baby, Baby How Long?
5. Back Door Man
6. Change My Way
7. Shake For Me
8. The Wolf Is At Your Door
9. Moanin’ At Midnight
10. The Natchez Burnin’
11. You Can’t Be Beat
12. No Place To Go
13. Goin’ Back Home
14. Little Red Rooster