Blue Hawaii (OST) (180G Electric Blue Vinyl LP)

Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060348583561
Cat No: NOTLP356


Blue Hawaii was Elvis’ 8th film, and on its release in 1961 became one of that year’s most successful titles at the box office. It remained one of the singer’s all-time favourite movies, and began a love affair with the island, which had become America’s 50th state in 1959. Blue Hawaii was the usual Elvis mix of exotic locations, beautiful girls and lots of songs. The soundtrack of Blue Hawaii did not disappoint – the sleeve boasting “14 Great Songs”. The title track was a perfect introduction, while the Hawaiian setting meant that space was found for the atmospheric Hawaiian Sunset and Island Of Love (Kauai). Room was also found for two other island-related songs – Aloha Oe and Hawaiian Wedding Song, both of which had been hits for Bing Crosby back in the 1930s. But where Blue Hawaii really scored for fans was the inclusion of the boisterous Rock-A-Hula Baby and a song which would go on to become one of the singer’s best-loved ballads – Can’t Help Falling In Love. Based in part on an 18th Century French melody, for many years this became Elvis’ in-concert finale.


1. Blue Hawaii
2. Almost Always True
3. Aloha Oe
4. No More
5. Can’t Help Falling In Love
6. Rock-A-Hula Baby
7. Moonlight Swim


1. Ku-u-i-po (Hawaiian Sweetheart)
2. Ito Eats
3. Slicin’ Sand
4 Hawaiian Sunset
5. Beach Boys Blue
6. Island Of Love (Kauai)
7. Hawaiian Wedding Song