American Industrial Ballads (2CD SET)

Artist: Pete Seeger
Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143492181
Cat No: NOT2CD218


When, in 2006, Bruce Springsteen released ‘We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions’, an album of songs Pete Seeger had popularized over dozens of albums and several decades, the man in question was typically modest in his response. “Bruce phoned me three weeks before to say the project was being released. I was honoured, but I would have suggested another title, good heavens, I don’t need the publicity!” Indeed. Anyone with the slightest knowledge of American folk and protest singing realizes that Seeger was, to his own generation, as much the Boss as Springsteen is to his. Both specialized in getting to the heart of the matter, expressing hopes and fears in straight-talking lyrics with memorable tunes to match. Enjoy these two CDs of classic Pete Seeger ballads.

Categories: , , ,

CD 1: American Industrial Ballads

1. Peg And Awl
2. The Blind Fiddler
3. Buffalo Skinners
4. Eight Hour Day
5. Hard Times In The Mill
6. Roll Down The Line
7. Hayseed Like Me
8. The Farmer Is The Man
9. Come All You Hardy Miners
10. He Lies In The American Land
11. Casey Jones
12. Let Them Wear Their Watches Fine
13. Cotton Mill Colic
14. Seven Cent Cotton & Forty Cent Meat
15. Mill Mother’s Lament
16. Fare Ye Well Old Ely Branch
17. Beans, Bacon And Gravy
18. The Death Of Harry Simms
19. Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues
20. Ballad Af Barney Graham
21. My Children Are Seven In Number
22. Raggedy
23. Pittsburgh Town
24. Sixty Per Cent

CD 2: American Favourite Ballads

1. Down In The Valley
2. Mary Don’t You Weep
3. The Blue Tail Fly
4. Yankee Doodle
5. Cielito Lindo
6. Wabash Cannonball
7. So Long, It’s Been Good To Know You
8. Skip To My Lou
9. The Wagoner’s Lad
10. The Wreck Of The Old ’97
11. Old Dan Tucker
12. I Ride An Old Paint
13. Frankie and Johnnie
14. On Top Of Old Smokey
15. The Big Rock Candy Mountain
16. Home On The Range

Bonus Tracks:

17. Kisses Sweeter Than Wine
18. She’ll Be Comin’ Round The Mountain