The Queen Of Soul (2CD SET)

Artist: Aretha Franklin
Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143494734
Cat No: NOT2CD473


Aretha Franklin is a giant both of soul and American popular music. Born in 1942 in Memphis, Tennessee, to the Reverend CL Franklin, a Baptist preacher, and Barbara Siggers Franklin, a gospel singer, she had daily exposure to the religious music which so influenced her career. Indeed, Aretha’s first album, ‘The Gospel Soul Of Aretha Franklin’, was recorded in 1956 when she was just 14. This collection puts a spotlight on her early Columbia years and gives a unique insight into the development of a singer who has long since become a household name.

Categories: , , , ,


1. Won’t Be Long
2. Sweet Lover
3. It’s So Heartbreakin’
4. Right Now
5. Love Is The Only Thing
6. All Night Long
7. Maybe I’m A Fool
8. Just For You
9. Exactly Like You
10. (Blue) By Myself
11. Today I Sing The Blues
12. Just For A Thrill
13. Rock-A-Bye Baby With A Dixie Melody
14. It Ain’t Necessarily So
15. You Made Me Love You
16. Try A Little Tenderness
17. Don’t Cry Baby
18. That Lucky Old Sun
19. Nobody Like You
20. I Surrender Dear


1. Rough Lover
2. I’m Wandering
3. Lover Come Back To Me
4. Without The One You Love
5. Are You Sure
6. I Apologize
7. How Deep Is The Ocean?
8. I’m Sitting On Top Of The World
9. Blue Holiday
10. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
11. God Bless The Child
12. Who Needs You?
13. Look for The Silver Lining
14. Over The Rainbow
15. Yield Not To Temptation
16. I Don’t Know Anymore
17. While The Blood Runs Warm
18. I Told You So
19. There Is A Fountain Filled With Blood
20. The Day Is Past And Gone