The Duke Years 1952-1962

Artist: Bobby 'Blue' Bland
Format: 3CD
Bar-code: 5060342021557
Cat No: NOT3CD155


‘Though he possessed gifts on a par with his most accomplished peers,’ said the NewYork Post in its obituary, ‘Bland never achieved the popular acclaim enjoyed by contemporaries like Ray Charles and BB King. But he was nevertheless a mainstay on the rhythm and blues charts and club circuit for decades.’ Hopefully this three-disc set of his Duke Records output from 1952-’62 will stay on your playlist, dear listener, for many years to come.

Categories: , , ,

CD 1

1. Farther Up The Road
2. Stormy Monday Blues
3. Little Boy Blue
4. Lead Me On
5. Who Will The Next Fool Be?
6. Call On Me
7. I.O.U. Blues
8. It’s My Life, Baby
9. You’ve Got A Bad Intentions
10. Woke Up Screaming
11. Bobby’s Blues
12. You’re The One (That I Adore)
13. Hold Me Tenderly
14. Two Steps From The Blues
15. How Does A Cheating Women Feel
16. Close To You
17. Don’t Want No Woman
18. You Did Me Wrong
19. Teach Me (How To Love You)
20. Last Night

CD 2

1. Ain’t That Loving You
2. Yield Not To Temptation
3. Cry, Cry, Cry
4. I’ll Take Care Of You
5. Lovin’ Blues
6. Time Out
7. Blue Moon
8. I’ve Been Wrong So Long
9. I Learned My Lesson
10. I Don’t Believe
11. I Smell Trouble
12. You Got Me (Where You Want Me)
13. I Lost Sight On The World
14. Wishing Well
15. Is It Real
16. Your Friends
17. I’ve Just Got To Forget You
18. That’s Why

CD 3

1. Turn On Your Love Light
2. I Pity the Fool
3. I’m Not Ashamed
4. Don’t Cry No More
5. St. James Infirmary
6. That’s The Way Love Is
7. Someday
8. No Blow, No Show
9. Army Blues
10. You Or None
11. I Can’t Put You Down Baby
12. Blues In The Night
13. Jelly, Jelly, Jelly
14. Loan A Helping Hand
15. Twistin’ Up The Road
16. 36-22-36
17. You’re Worth It All
18. Sometime Tomorrow