The Country Sound Of MERLE HAGGARD (2cd set)

Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143496882
Cat No: NOT2CD688


Until his death in 2016, Merle Haggard was hailed right across the musical spectrum, from rednecks to punk rockers. With 22 years old, he was among the audience at Johnny Cash’s legendary 1960 concert at San Quentin prison, as he was serving time for a botched break-in. But seeing the Man in Black that night, inspired Merle to make music, not crime, his career – and even the swiftest glance at the forty songs on this collection will confirm that he made the right choice.

Categories: , , ,


Disc 1

1. Okie From Muskogee
2. The Fightin’ Side Of Me
3. The Bottle Let Me Down
4. I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am
5. Workin’ Man Blues
6. Daddy Frank (The Guitar Man)
7. Carolyn
8. Old Man From The Mountain
9. Hungry Eyes
10. Ramblin’ Fever
11. The Legend Of Bonnie And Clyde
12. I’m A Lonesome Fugitive
13. Kentucky Gambler
14. Branded Man
15. I Threw Away The Rose
16. The Roots Of My Raisin’
17. It’s All In The Movies
18. It’s Been A Great Afternoon
19. Misery And Gin
20. I Think I’ll Just Stay Here And Drink


Disc 2

1. Mama Tried
2. Everybody’s Had The Blues
3. If We Make It Through December
4. Swinging Doors
5. Farmer’s Daughter
6. The Emptiest Arms In The World
7. Always Wanting You
8. Things Aren’t Funny Anymore
9. Sing Me Back Home
10. Holding Things Together
11. (From Now On All My Friends Are Gonna Be) Strangers
12. Turnin’ Off A Memory
13. Today I Started Loving You Again
14. Someday We’ll Look Back
15. The Way I Am
16. It’s Not Love (But It’s Not Bad)
17. Cherokee Maiden
18. I’m Always On A Mountain When I Fall
19. Silver Wings
20. From Graceland To The Promised Land