Spanish Guitar Virtuoso (3cd set)

Format: 3CD
Bar-code: 5060432022891
Cat No: NOT3CD289


Long hailed as one of the world’s greatest classical guitarists, John Williams’ career effectively began with the release of these three early albums, including ‘Guitar Recital’, John’s 1958 recording debut. It was with this first LP that John began the long career which helped establish the popularity of the classical guitar. Williams’ ‘Guitar Recital 2’, released in 1959, found the guitarist further exploring Spanish classical theme, while The release of his third LP ‘A Spanish Guitar’ in 1961, further cemented John’s love of the country and its music.

Categories: , , ,


Disc 1: Guitar Recital ~ First Album

Suite No. 3 in C (J.S. Bach) for unaccompanied violoncello transcribed for guitar solo
1. Prelude
2. Allemande
3. Courante
4. Sarabande
5. Bourrées 1 & 2
6. Gigue

7. Torre Bermeja

8. Three Mexican Popular Songs
a) La Pajarera
b) Por Ti Mi Corazón
c) La Valentina

9. Etude No.1 in E minor
10. Norteña
11. Variations on a Catalan Folk Song, opus 25 “Canco del Llabre”

Disc 2: Guitar Recital ~ Second Album

1. Suite No. 1 in G for unaccompanied violoncello
2. Sonata in E minor (Longo 352)
3. Gavotte
4. Variations on a Theme of Mozart. Op.9
5. Oración
6. Estudio
7. Humorada
8. Barcarolle
9. La Maja de Goya
10. Valse Criollo

Disc 3 : Spanish Guitar


1. Allegretto
2. Andante
3. Allegro
4. Nocturno

Suite Castellana

5. Fandaugillo
6. Arcada
7. Danza (Concluded)
8. Valse
9. Theme Varie et Finale
10. Twelve Preludes