Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Irving Berlin and Duke Ellington Songbooks (3CD SET)

Artist: Ella Fitzgerald
Format: 3CD
Bar-code: 5060143490217
Cat No: NOT3CD021


Ella Fitzgerald was, by any yardstick, a remarkable singer. She had achieved much by the time she signed to the newly created Verve Records in 1956, but it was the genius of Norman Granz, her personal manager, in suggesting that she tackle the material of great contemporary composers in themed albums that sent her career into orbit. Ella had the world at her feet during the late 1950s and early 1960s, recording her songbooks and delighting concert audiences across the globe. Featured here are the original Irving Berlin and Duke Ellington recordings, digitally remastered for optimum sound quality.

Categories: , , , , ,

CD 1 The Irving Berlin Songbook

1. Let’s Face The Music And Dance
2. You’re Laughing At Me
3. Let Yourself Go
4. You Can Have Him
5. Russian Lullaby
6. Puttin’ On The Ritz
7. Get Thee Behind Me, Satan
8. Alexander’s Ragtime Band
9. Top Hat, White Tie, And Tails
10. How About Me?
11. Cheek To Cheek
12. I Used To Be Color Blind
13. Lazy
14. How Deep Is The Ocean?
15. All By Myself
16. (You Forgot To) Remember
17. Supper Time
18. How’s Chances
19. Heat Wave
20. Isn’t It A Lovely Day
21. You Keep Coming Back Like A Song
22. Reaching For The Moon
23. (Let’s Go) Slumming On Park Avenue
24. The Song Is Ended
25. I’m Puttin’ All My Eggs In One Basket
26. Now It Can Be Told

CD 2 The Irving Berlin Songbook Cont.

1. Always
2. It’s A Lovely Day Today
3. Change Partners
4. No Strings (I’m Fancy Free)
5. I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm

The Duke Ellington Songbook

6. Rockin’ In Rhythm
7. Drop Me Off In Harlem
8. Day Dream
9. Caravan
10. Take The ‘A’ Train
11. I Ain’t Got Nothing But The Blues
12. Clementine
13. I Didn’t Know About You
14. I’m Beginning To See The Light
15. Lost In Meditation
16. Perdido
17. Cotton Tail
18. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me
19. Just A-Sittin’ And A’Rockin’
20. Solitude
21. Rocks In My Bed

CD 3 The Duke Ellington Songbook Cont.

1. Satin Doll
2. Sophisticated Lady
3. Just Squeeze Me
4. It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
5. Azure
6. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
7. In A Sentimental Mood
8. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
9. Prelude To A Kiss
10. Everything But You
11. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
12. I’m Just A Lucky So-And-So
13. All Too Soon
14. Blip-Blip
15. Mood Indigo
16. In A Mellow Tone
17. Love You Madly
18. Lush Life
19. Squatty Roo