Nancy Wilson Sings The Great American Songbook (2cd set)

Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143497377
Cat No: NOT2CD737


Life changed for Nancy Wilson in 1958, when, after working with regional bandleader Rusty Bryant’s band and touring Ohio and the midwest, she headed for New York to look up jazz alto star Cannonball Adderley who’d admired her vocal style when they’d played a date in Ohio. Within a few weeks of her arrival in the Big Apple she had signed a deal with Capitol Records whose A&R man, Dave Cavanaugh, tumbled over himself with glee with his capture, claiming she has “the nasal quality of Dinah Washington and the tear of Billie Holiday”. Songs like Johnny Mercer’s ‘This Time The Dream’s On Me’; ‘Teach Me Tonight’ and a lightly swinging rendition of Curtis Lewis’ ‘The Great City’ are among the other tracks that found their way on to this timeless compilation

Categories: , , , , , , ,

Disc 1

1. My Foolish Heart
2. Happy Talk
3. When Sunny Gets Blue
4. The Nearness Of You
5. Miss Otis Regrets
6. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
7. Hello, Young Lovers
8. The Things We Did Last Summer
9. He’s My Guy
10. Call It Stormy Monday
11. Never Will I Marry
12. Something Happens To Me
13. When A Woman Loves A Man
14. Guess Who I Saw Today?
15. Save Your Love For Me
16. I Wish You Love
17. I’m Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
18. The Masquerade Is Over

Disc 2

1. Put On A Happy Face
2. Little Girl Blue
3. All Night Long
4. Teach Me Tonight
5. Born To Be Blue
6. This Time The Dream’s On Me
7. Something Wonderful Happens
8. You Don’t Know What Love Is
9. A Sleepin’ Bee
10. The Great City
11. Nina Never Knew
12. Listen, Little Girl
13. Back In Your Own Back Yard
14. Let’s Live Again
15. The Old Country
16. A Good Man Is Hard To Find
17. Sophisticated Lady
18. If Dreams Come True