Sings The Great American Songbook

Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143497483
Cat No: NOT2CD748


The Queen of The Blues, a title that she bestowed upon herself as she clambered to the top, was something else. She was a great singer, one who stylistically fitted in somewhere between Billie Holiday and Bessie Smith but with a touch of something that made her a more commercial proposition than either. She could sing anything with conviction, allied to a style that was completely her own. This double-CD has been compiled from the array of American standards that Dinah Washington personalised and made her own over the years.

Categories: , , ,

Disc 1

1. What A Difference A Day Makes
2. A Sunday Kind Of Love
3. September In The Rain
4. Fly Me To The Moon
5. Let’s Do It (Let’s Fall In Love)
6. Sunny Side Of The Street
7. Time After Time
8. Let Me Love You
9. Manhattan
10. I Thought About You
11. Mood Indigo
12. I Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me
13. When I Fall In Love
14. I Could Write A Book
15. More Than You Know
16. I’ll Be Around
17. You Go To My Head (live)
18. I Wanna Be Loved
19. All Of Me
20. I’ve Got A Crush On You
21. Cry Me A River
22. I’m A Fool To Want You
23. It’s Magic
24. While We’re Young
25. The Song Is Ended (But The Melody Lingers On)

Disc 2

1. Unforgettable
2. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
3. Let’s Fall In Love
4. Sometimes I’m Happy
5. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me
6. Am I Blue?
7. There’ll Be Some Changes Made
8. I Remember You
9. I’ve Got You Under My Skin (live)
10. Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered
11. If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight
12. Good Morning Heartache
13. ’Tain’t Nobody’s Business If I Do
14. Without A Song
15. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
16. Ill Wind
17. Come Rain Or Come Shine (live)
18. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be)
19. What Can I Say After I Say I’m Sorry?
20. I’m Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
21. If I Should Lose You
22. I Can’t Face The Music (Without Singing The Blues)
23. This Love Of Mine
24. I’m Thru With Love
25. Goodbye