Ella & Her Fellas (2cd set)

Format: 2CD
Bar-code: 5060143497179
Cat No: NOT2CD717


Ella Fitzgerald requires little introduction. A one-time dancer at Harlem Apollo’s Amateur Night, the story of how she opted instead to perform a couple of songs is legendary. It caused such a furore that bandleader Chick Webb immediately signed her and was rewarded when his version of A-Tisket A-Tasket featuring Ella’s vocal, became the biggest-selling record in America during the ‘30s. Decca, the label to which Ella was signed between 1936 -1955 quickly realised her potential when she became a solo act. Equally, it became obvious that when teamed with the label’s other top-line acts, she could provide an array of releases that not only won through in terms of quality and musicality but could also ring all the right notes on record shop cash registers. Some of those can be heard on this amazing 2CD compilation.

Categories: , , ,


Disc 1

1. Who Walks In When I Walk Out (with Louis Armstrong)
2. I’m Beginning To See The Light (with Duke Ellington)
3. He’s My Guy (with The Four Keys)
4. Cow Cow Boogie (with The Ink Spots)
5. Sentimental Journey (with Eddie Heywood)
6. I Wished On The Moon (with Nelson Riddle)
7. For Sentimental Reasons (I Love You) (with The Delta Rhythm Boys)
8. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (with Louis Jordan)
9. That’s The Way It Is (with The Ink Spots)
10. Don’t Cha Go ‘Way Mad (with Sy Oliver)
11. Dedicated To You (with The Mills Brothers)
12. Oops! (with Louis Armstrong)
13. You Turned The Tables On Me (with The Daydreamers)
14. Stone Cold Dead In The Market (with Louis Jordan)
15. Too Close For Comfort (with Joe Williams & Count Basie)
16. The Very Thought Of You (with Louis Jordan)
17. It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing) (with Duke Ellington)
18. It’s A Pity To Say Goodnight (with The Delta Rhythm Boys)
19. I’m Confessin’ That I Love You (with The Song Spinners)
20. Can Anyone Explain (No! No! No!) (with Louis Armstrong)

Disc 2

1. That Old Feeling (with The Daydreamers)
2. Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall (with The Ink Spots)
3. Take The ‘A’ Train (with Duke Elllington)
4. Dream A Little Dream Of Me (with Louis Armstrong)
5. My Heart And I Decided (with The Four Keys)
6. It’s Only A Paper Moon (with The Delta Rhythm Boys)
7. Georgia on My Mind (with Nelson Riddle)
8. Petootie Pie (with Louis Jordan)
9. I Gotta Have My Baby Back (with The Mills Brothers)
10. M.I.S.S.I.S.S.I.P.P.I (with Four Hits & A Miss)
11. I’m Beginning To See The Light (with The Ink Spots)
12. Drop Me Off In Harlem (with Duke Elllington)
13. A-Tisket, A-Tasket (with Chick Webb)
14. Peas And Rice (with Louis Jordan)
15. Body And Soul (with Nelson Riddle)
16. Big Boy Blue (with The Mills Brothers)
17. Would You Like To Take A Walk (with Louis Armstrong)
18. I’m Making Believe (with The Ink Spots)
19. Caravan (with Duke Elllington)
20. You Won’t Be Satisfied (Until You Break My Heart) (with Louis Armstrong)