Miles Davis At Carnegie Hall (180G Vinyl LP)

Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060348583271
Cat No: NOTLP327


When Miles Davis played a special concert at New York’s iconic Carnegie Hall on May 19th, 1961 he was accompanied not only by his own Quintet, but also by Gil Evans and his 21 piece Orchestra. It proved a controversial evening in some respects and it was only recorded thanks to the perseverance of Miles’ Producer Teo Macero. It is reported that Miles suffered stage fright on the night of this historical event and therefore did not want it to be recorded. But Macero secretly managed to use the venue’s mono recording equipment and captured the show for posterity. However it yielded some superb performances that included some extended versions of popular Davis compositions. Whatever the circumstances, the Trumpeter was playing at his absolute best, spurred on to greater heights by the expectations of his fellow musicians, Gil Evans and an enthusiastic audience.



1. So What
2. Spring Is Here
3. No Blues


1. Oleo
2. Someday My Prince Will Come
3. The Meaning Of The Blues/Lament/New Rhumba