Incredible Jazz Guitar (3CD SET)

Artist: Wes Montgomery
Format: 3CD
Bar-code: 5060342021083
Cat No: NOT3CD108


Up until the emergence of Wes Montgomery, the story of jazz guitar had lain in the hands of such luminaries as Eddie Lang, Charlie Christian and Barney Kessel. What Wes bought to the table was a style that became famous for its use of octaves and block chords, taken on board by so many other guitarists including George Benson. His use of the thumb rather than his fingers in picking out those sumptuous lines of his, served to single Montgomery out as an individual bringing something different to the music in the second half of the Fifties and into the early Sixties.


Categories: , , ,

CD 1 Incredible Jazz Guitar

1. Airegin
2. D-Natural Blues
3. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
4. Four On Six
5. West Coast Blue
6. In Your Own Sweet Way
7. Mr. Walker
8. Gone With The Wind

CD 2 Movin’ Along

1. Movin’ Along
2. Tune-Up
3. Ghost Of A Chance
4. Sandu
5. Body And Soul
6. So Do It!
7. Says You

CD 3 So Much Guitar!

1. Twisted Blues
2. Cotton Tail
3. I Wish I Knew
4. I’m Just A Lucky So And So
5. Repetition
6. Somethin’ Like Bags
7. While We’re Young
8. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)