I’ll Try Something New

Artist: The Miracles
Format: LP
Bar-code: 5060348582014
Cat No: NOTLP201


Back in 1962 when this, their third album was released, the group consisted of Smokey, Ronnie White, Pete Moore and brother and sister Bobby and Claudette Rogers. While he had yet to be featured in the billing by name that came in 1965 Robinson s photo was top and centre of the LP cover. The ten songs featured barely amounted to 27 minutes of music, but what I ll Try Something New may have lacked in quantity it more than made up for in quality. And the reason was clear. Six of the ten songs stem from Robinson s pen five solo efforts and the sixth, closing track This I Swear, I Promise , a co-write with Janie Bradford. Let’s savour an album that, as one perceptive critic put it, features the Miracles at their early best…as young, eager kids just starting out, filled with optimism, youthful exuberance and enthusiasm, long before record-company politics, favouritism and restrictions changed the group forever.

Categories: , , ,


1. I’ll Try Something New

2. What’s So Good About Good-By

3. I’ve Been Good To You

4. A Love That Can Never Be

5. He Don’t Care About Me



1. Speak Low

2. On The Street Where You Live

3. If Your Mother Only Knew

4. I’ve Got You Under My Skin

5. This I Swear, I Promise