Welcome to Not Now Music


LP 1: Brilliant Corners

Side 1

1. Brilliant Corners (7:45)
2. Ba-Lue Bolivar Ba-Lues Are (13:09)

Side 2

1. Pannonica (8:51)
2. I Surrender, Dear (5:28)
3. Bemsha Swing (7:43)

LP 2- Thelonious Himself

1. April In Paris (3:54)
2. (I Don't Stand) A Ghost Of A Chance (4:26)
3. Functional (9:23)
4. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You (4:08)

Side 2

1. I Should Care (3:17)
2. 'Round Midnight (6:44)
3. All Alone (4:54)
3. Monk's Mood (7:52)

Brilliant Corners

Artist Thelonious Monk

Format 2LP

Cat No NOT2LP140

Bar-Code 5060143491405

Availability: In stock


Pianist and composer Thelonious Sphere Monk is quite rightly heralded as one of the major figures involved in the birth of bebop and consequently revered, alongside such luminaries as Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie, as a father of what became known as modern jazz. But, in so many respects, his stylistic approach to the music differed from his illustrious contemporaries. For whilst Parker, Gillespie and his fellow pianist Bud Powell often displayed their considerable technique at ridiculously fast tempos, Monk's approach was entirely different with a keyboard technique that used a considerable amount of space and relied greatly on its percussive qualities for impact. He fitted into the world of these who wished to take the world of jazz to the next stage after the swing era, but became part of the be-bop scene by default, not design. Two iconic albums 'Brilliant Corners' and 'Thelonious Himself' are included on this special 2LP gatefold edition.

Also available on CD

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register