Welcome to Not Now Music


CD 1: Blue Train

1. Blue Train (10:43)
2. Moment's Notice (9:10)
3. Locomotion 7:14
4. I'm Old Fashioned 7:58
5. Lazy Bird 7:00

CD 2: Traneing In

1. Traneing In (12:37)
2. Slow Dance (5:28)
3. Bass Blues (7:48)
4. You Leave Me Breathless (7:25)
5. Soft Lights And Sweet Music (4:41)


6. Dakar (7:07)
7. Mary's Blues (6:46)
8. Route 4 (6:53)
9. Velvet Scene (4:52)
10. Witches' Pit (6:40)
11. Catwalk (7:11)

Blue Train

Artist John Coltrane

Format 2CD

Cat No NOT2CD291

Bar-Code 5060143492914

Availability: In stock


'Blue Train' was recorded in September 1957 in New Jersey for Blue Note Records, and is considered John Coltrane's best album from this period. Four of its five tracks are Coltrane compositions and the title track, 'Moment's Notice' and 'Lazy Bird' have all become standards. 'Moment's Notice' in particular exhibited the so-called 'Coltrane changes', distinctive chord progressions that would become a trademark.


This album captures John Coltrane at the peak of his solo career, though of course, there was more significant music to come. He died of cancer of the liver on 17 July 1967 but left a legacy of recordings which, to this day, inspire jazz musicians the world over.

Also available on Vinyl

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register